AST of mycobacteria

Antimicrobial susceptibility testing of Mycobacteria

Dear Colleagues,

This is an invitation on behalf of the EUCAST Subcommittee on Antimycobacterial Susceptibility Testing (AMST) to contribute to and participate in the calibration and evaluation of methods used for susceptibility testing of the Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex (MTBC). 

Time: 1000-1600 CET. 4th of February 2020.

Venue:  Hotel Scandia Triangeln, Malmö, Sweden (direct train from Copenhagen airport, two stops). 

Many provided valuable input on the EUCAST reference method for MTBC published July 2019 (  along with a calibration SOP and at the workshop we hope for continuous discussion on technical issues, generation of data and formalities regarding the interaction with the AMST. 

A detailed invitation along with a tentative schedule is available. 

Each participant arranges and pays for transportation, and if needed, overnight stay.
EUCAST AMST will arrange a conference room and a sandwich lunch.
The deadline for registration (email to: is on the 22nd of December 2019. 

Emmanuelle Cambau, Chair of AMST and Thomas Schön, Scientific Secretary of AMST






 Remit of the EUCAST AMST subcommittee


  • Draft an SOP for a reference MIC method
  • Define a set of quality control strains
  • Organise the assembly of a set of reference strains to comprise approximately 100 wild type isolates and 50 identified as resistant to one or two agents (but not MDR MTb).
  • Organise studies to establish reproducibility of the reference method in at least three laboratories.
  • Organise preparation of MIC distributions for the reference strains. The reference MICs will be performed in at least three reference laboratories.
  • Interact with the EUCAST Steering Committee in the setting of breakpoints for antimycobacterial agents.
  • Define the relevance of molecular testing and mutation frequencies.


Subcommittee members

Emmanuelle Cambau (chair) France ESGMYC
Thomas Schön  Sweden ESGMYC
Miguel Viveiros Portugal ESGMYC
Miguel Santin Spain ESGMYC
Daniela Cirillo Italy ERLTB-net
Jim Werngren, ESGMYC
Gerard Lina France EUCAST
Johan Mouton Netherlands EUCAST

European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST)

ESCMID study group for mycobacterial infections (ESGMYC)

European Reference Laboratory Network for Tuberculosis (ERLTB-net)