AST of mycobacteria

Meetings and Minutes


Meetings and Minutes


EUCAST AMST workshop on the 4th of February, 2020, Malmö, Sweden 

on the EUCAST reference method for the Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex.
Chair Emmanuelle Cambau, chair of AMST.

  • Calibration of other methods to the EUCAST reference method. Frequently asked questions and the role of the reference method. Thomas Schön, Scientific Secretary of AMST. 
  • Interaction between EUCAST and its subcommittees and commercial companies. Relations between EMA and EUCAST. Gunnar Kahlmeter, EUCAST.
  • Short presentations from stakeholders (agreed beforehand). 
  • Reference method calibration proposal. Brigit Quinn and Charles Cooper, BD. 
  • Bedaquiline. Koné Kaniga, Janssen.  
  • Pretomanid susceptibility testing – calibrating MGIT MIC data to the EUCAST reference method. Juliano Timm, TB Alliance. 
  • Discussion led by AMST (including coffee break). Principles for interactions and how to proceed. 
  • General discussion. 

List of participants

Emmanuelle Cambau, EUCAST AMST (Chair)

Thomas Schön, EUCAST AMST (Scientific secretary)

Miguel Santin, EUCAST AMST

Miguel Viveiros, EUCAST AMST

Jim Werngren, EUCAST AMST

Daniela Cirillo, EUCAST AMST


Christian Giske, EUCAST SC/AMST

Gunnar Kahlmeter, EUCAST SC/EDL

Max Salfinger, University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine, USA

Diana Machado, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa, Portugal

Lynette Berkeley, FDA, USA

Dorte Bek Folkvardsen, Statens Serum Institut, Denmark

Koné Kaniga, Johnson & Johnson Global Public Health, Division of Janssen Pharmaceutica, USA

Florian Maurer, Research Center Borstel, Germany

Hanne-Leena Hyyryläinen, Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare, Finland

Claudio Köser, University of Cambridge, UK

Vlad Nikolayevskyy, Public Health England, UK

Troels Lillebæk, Statens Serum Institut, Denmark

Nicolas Veziris, Sorbonne Université, France

Alexandra Aubry, Sorbonne Université, France

Emmanuel André, KU Leuven, Belgium

Charles Cooper, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), USA

Janine Spafford, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), USA

Brigit Quinn, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), USA

Kadri Klaos, Tartu University Hospital, Estonia

Erik Svensson, Statens Serum Institut, Denmark

Alexei Korobitsyn, WHO, Switzerland.

Juliano Timm, TB-alliance, USA

Vroni Girbinger, Otsuka, Germany

Norbert Hittel, Otsuka, Germany

Anne Torunn, National Institute of Public Health, Norway